(no subject)

Mar. 27th, 2026 09:37 pm
shadowkat: (Wonder Woman)
[personal profile] shadowkat
Another day, another dollar - or several dollars - hence the reason I got up at 6 am, got on the subway around 7 am, and lugged my sorry old ass to the tip of Manhattan and the eighteenth floor of a steel and glass building to work. My thirty-odd years in NYC has resulted in jumping between all sorts of office buildings and in just about every borough but Staten Island. (Which is good thing, because I'm not entirely sure how I'd commute to Staten Island from where I live?) I finally made into an office with a window and a few, and some semblance of privacy, it's still a cubicle - but at least it's a nice one.

Political Interactions on Threads or social media (that is not Dreamwidth), which is why I'm rarely on Threads? It makes me wish there were a lot more Darwin Awards.
humorous if it wasn't true, which alas it is, so...anxiety inducing right now, humorous about 30-50 years from now, assuming of course anyone is still alive and we've not destroyed ourselves yet? )

Shower. Bed. I'll write more another day, hopefully not about politics.
thewayne: (Default)
[personal profile] thewayne
You may not be aware of this, but Walmart is getting into the advertising business in a big way. And one of their moves was buying Vizio in December '24. Now if you buy a Vizio TV, in order set it up and use any "smart" features, you'll have to configure a Walmart store account and sign in to your TV, so you can get personalized ads and offers.

Oh, brave new world that has such things in't!

Theoretically this only applies currently to 'select' models, but it probably won't be long until it's all the way up and down the product line. You might be able to sign in, configure the TV, then unplug or disconnect the WiFi, but I have a feeling that it's going to want to check in with its mothership on a regular basis and will plague you with popups until its reconnected.

Recommendation? Don't buy Vizio products. A few years ago they started making more money selling analytics on their users than on the TVs themselves. THIS is what Walmart wants to spur their advertising, just like Google does with search results and "anonymously" analyzing your email.

This is also why I will do my best to avoid buying a smart TV and will stick with an Apple TV for my streaming needs. Apple does not sell advertising. While you will need an Apple account to configure the Apple TV, you don't actually need any other Apple devices if you don't want them.

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2026/03/newly-purchased-vizio-tvs-now-require-walmart-accounts-to-use-smart-features/
bluapapilio: conan from detective conan yawning (dcmk conan yawn)
[personal profile] bluapapilio
Summary: Follows the life of a hero who manages to win all battles with only one punch. This ability seems to frustrate him as he no longer feels the thrill and adrenaline of fighting a tough battle, which leads to him questioning his past desire to be strong.

Maan I should've known I was going to have to start over from the beginning. I feel between the manga, webcomic and anime I should remember more than I do...

Chapter 1-2: Saitama's origin story. He got turned down for a job and decided nothing matters anymore, but he runs into a monster after a boy and ends up helping without thinking. He remembers his childhood dream of becoming a hero.

After winning the fight, he trains so hard he loses his hair but gains invincible power. He soon realizes that his heart now feels empty.

Chapter 3: Took down siblings, one made the other a giant killing machine.

Chapter 4: Had a dream there were monsters strong enough to challenge him. Honestly if Saitama wants to keep capturing that rush he should learn lucid dreaming.

Chapter 5: Worrying about how he's becoming emotionally numb. "I feel no fear, no joy, no excitement nor anger."

On the back of that there's a hilarious moment where Saitama can't squash a mosquito because it keeps escaping. 😂 Saitama lives in Z City where a demon level mosquito lady attacks.

Genos's first appearance!

Chapter 6: I love how Saitama reacted to Genos telling him about the mosquitos. "That's bad, isn't it? Let's run for i-..." Even for an invincible man mosquitos are still a Nope.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Genos's body is way too fragile...

I love Saitama took out the mosquito lady with a slap like he was trying to do with the mosquito from earlier.

Chapter 7: Genos shares his entire life story in two paragraphs... 4 years ago a cyborg attacked his village. His brain had been damaged during the transplant. Genos was the only survivor out of his family but he had to be put in a cyborg body.

He says 'Dr. Stench' passed by his town on accident to stop the cyborg, but what if he's the one who made the cyborg and he felt guilty and that's why he helped Genos?

We may have found out more later I just don't remember;;

'House of Evolution', where the mosquito lady came from, wants to study Saitama.

Weekly Reading

Mar. 27th, 2026 05:35 pm
torachan: sakaki from azumanga daioh holding a cat, with the text "I like cats" in Japanese (sakaki)
[personal profile] torachan
I'm going to be out of town for the next couple Fridays, so I won't have a reading post for a while, but I will be reading and posting about everything once I get back.

Recently Finished
Everyone in This Bank Is a Thief
Brand new Ernest Cunningham book. I am still greatly enjoying this series.

Cocaine Blues
First in the Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries series. I've never seen the show, but am vaguely aware of it and did not realize it was based on books, but this popped up in my recommendations and I do like historical murder mysteries with female protagonists. I didn't love this one, though? It was okay, and I'll probably read more eventually, but I'm not rushing out to read the rest right this moment.

The Tokyo Zodiac Murders
This was an interesting one. The plot sounded intriguing, but so much of the first half or so of the book is just these two guys talking about this 40-year-old unsolved case and coming up with theories, and it was kind of boring. Once it finally got going I enjoyed it more. There are a bunch of books in the series but it looks like only one other is translated into English and I'm not so invested that I want to pay money for the Japanese ones.

This American Ex-Wife
Memoir about the author's divorce (from a truly terrible guy) and how getting divorced was freeing for her. I really liked this a lot.

Lu and Ren’s Guide to Geozoology
Cute middle grade graphic novel about a girl who goes off in search of her missing geozoologist grandmother so they can view an upcoming eclipse together. It's set in a fantasy world and a big focus is on the various animals of the world. I liked this a lot.

Bokura no Chikyuu no Arukikata vol. 7
Final volume. I really loved this series.

Shadow House vol. 21

Time to start a riot, where you at

Mar. 27th, 2026 07:22 pm
musesfool: Olivia Dunham, PI (there are blondes and blondes)
[personal profile] musesfool
I made it through this work week unscathed! I logged off last night at 4:45 and took a 2 hour nap where I slept like a rock, got up, watched The Pitt (more on that below) and went to bed and again slept hard. This weekend could not have come at a better time! ;)

In other news, I am sure you have all see this, but in case you haven't: Himesh Patel joins the Ryan Coogler X-Files Reboot. Danielle Deadwyler was already on board. I am seated and ready! Though it will probably be several years before it premieres (if it doesn't get shitcanned the way the Buffy revival did).

My impression - not based on anything except how it's described in that article - is that this is more of a sequel than a reboot? Like a reopening of the X-Files several years later? But I could be wrong. It could be a straight up reboot. I am curious, though, how it will go, especially after we've had Fringe and, more recently, Evil treading similar ground.

As for The Pitt: spoilers )

And now I am just going to hit post while I still have an internet connection. The router has been worse today than ever before. I guess it knows its replacement is sitting five feet away, ready to be installed tomorrow.

*

Pokémon Legends Z-A again

Mar. 27th, 2026 06:13 pm
soc_puppet: Words "Baseless Opinion" in orange (Baseless Opinion)
[personal profile] soc_puppet
Still plugging away at this! I've mostly gotten over the motion sickness, but it does pop up from time to time. That said, a new contender for annoying traits has arisen: The absolute supremacy of the night/day changeover. Surely, even if simply challenging someone in the Z-A Royale isn't enough to override the change, being mid-battle with a wild Pokémon should be?

Speaking of things getting interrupted in the Z-A Royale, I'm definitely miffed that another trainer can spot and challenge me when I've already sent my Pokémon to challenge them. Very annoying! I should absolutely get first strike if I've already targeted their 'mon and set mine to attack it! Harrumph!

On the plus side, in addition to the guaranteed shiny Mareep, I've picked up a shiny Alpha Bellsprout and a shiny regular size Weedle, so I'm ahead of the game on shinies! Thank goodness for the shiny announcement side effect, or I never would've noticed the Weedle.

A Good Enough Timeline by Tazmy (T)

Mar. 28th, 2026 12:05 am
cassiope25: Rodney and John embracing on the peer (Mcshep-2)
[personal profile] cassiope25 posting in [community profile] stargateficrec
Show: SGA

Rec Category: Rodney McKay
Characters: Rodney McKay, John Sheppard, Ronon Dex
Pairings: Rodney/John
Categories: slash, emotional hurt/comfort
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Words: 9,562
Author's Journal: [personal profile] sgatazmy
Author's Website: Tazmy on AO3
Link Fic: A Good Enough Timeline
Link Podfic: mp3

Author's summary: Years after Elizabeth stepped through the gate to her demise, Atlantis is a thriving city in a hopeful future. Rodney, however, still struggles with Elizabeth’s loss and his role in her death. He’s determined to go back and save her.
But at what point does he stop trying to change the timeline and accept the one he’s in? Can John convince him before it's too late?

Why This Must Be Read: The emotional aftermath of losing Elizabeth, and Rodney's stubborn, even desperate attempt to set things right—risking everything, struggling with John over desire and reality, their relationship on the line—almost broke my heart.
It’s written with so much love for Rodney and John, with such thoughtfulness and insight—it offers you a new perspective and makes you really reflect on the deeper nature of life and fate, of right and wrong.
This isn't about a lighthearted fix-it or an easy way out, but a beautiful ode to conviction and dedication, hopes and boundaries, denial and acceptance, friendship and love.
Don't miss out on it!

There's also a wonderful podfic of this fic, beautifully read by Tazmy herself. I add the link here too.

snippet of fic )

第五年第七十六天

Mar. 28th, 2026 07:50 am
nnozomi: (Default)
[personal profile] nnozomi posting in [community profile] guardian_learning
部首
水 part 10
泉, spring (the water kind, not the season kind); 法, law/France; 泡, bubble pinyin )
https://www.mdbg.net/chinese/dictionary?cdqrad=85

语法
3.17 part 1: Rhetorical questions with 不是...吗?
https://www.digmandarin.com/hsk-3-grammar

词汇
儿童, children; 幼儿园, kindergarten pinyin )
https://mandarinbean.com/new-hsk-4-word-list/

Guardian:
从法律上讲你现在顶多是一个嫌疑人, in legal terms you're currently a suspect at most
不是说父子没有隔夜仇吗, don't they say father and child shouldn't stay mad overnight?
[no 儿 words]

Me:
这里明明是源泉,你看泡泡。
我俩是自从幼儿园以来的闺蜜。

drive bys

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:52 pm
susandennis: (Default)
[personal profile] susandennis
I've lost a shit ton of money this month. I made a shit ton in January and February and all that is gone now. The only redeeming feature is that I just know this stock market downturn is a nightmare for Trump and I'm totally willing to make the sacrifice if it ruins his day/week - here's hoping for more.

I got my little tiny laptop all working. It was not easy. Finding mobile media that works across platforms was the first challenge. Then, turns out, this little bugger has a very odd processor. Gemini was just stumped until finally figuring it out and showing me how. It's now perfect. It's a little smaller than 10" and no one makes one this small any more. I have two - both very very old. They have not been eligible for updates in years. I'm not even sure how I was able to do it today but Gemini did let me know that they will only work until August of 2027.

I'll just enjoy while I can. I'm glad I didn't toss 'em out.

I'm looking forward to tonight's baseball game. In a week or so, I'll be frustrated with the coverage or the play or the broadcasters but right now I'm just glad to have baseball back.

(no subject)

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:56 pm
olivermoss: (Default)
[personal profile] olivermoss
The world is a dark place... so it's good to know that Mischief Management has fucked up again: https://www.reddit.com/r/Barbie/comments/1s57zzo/barbie_nightmarefest/

Yes, the revolting transphobes who tried to use trans people as a shield while their Romance Con melted down over Harry Potter drama? And then went on to get a contract with Mattel? Things have gone so badly this is getting mainstream attention. I can only imagine what Swell Entertainment's notifications look like right now.

This video: https://www.reddit.com/r/Barbie/comments/1s5fbin/we_got_dashconned_yall/ reminds me of some liminal horror games I've seen.

Running time

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:46 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (uhura)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
Another thing I could hardly believe is that I maintained my 10-minute mile! I mean, omitting the time I had to take out after the first loop to go to the bathroom (this is apparently when my intestines wake up), which would count in a real event, but as far as fitness goes...I'm not counting it in training. I would count it if it allowed me to rest my muscles properly, or if I was stopping in order to rest, but mostly it just breaks up my rhythm and makes me have to run a first loop twice, which probably slows me down. (First loop is in many ways the hardest.)

I know I was slowing down toward the end, but one of the main things that kept me going was that I had a pep talk that went, "Even if it's slow, it still counts toward your distance. Running this last mile is better than walking it. See, you just passed someone. Even if you come in over a 10-minute mile average, you can bring the time down on another run. Even if it's slow, you'll still have to cover the rest of the loop to get home *somehow* and might as well run instead of walking, it feels better. Even it's slow, it still counts."

Imagine my shock when I pulled out my phone at the end of the run and had 13 seconds to spare. And if you add in the time it took me to remember that I needed to check my phone ASAP, and the time it took to spin my runner's belt around (I run with my phone behind me) and dig it out of the rolled up pocket (my runner's belt is too large for just a thin shirt and shorts; usually I have something a bit thicker on), my time was probably between 2:09:30 and 2:09:40.

My goal is to have my half marathon speed under 2 hours, because I'd like to have a marathon under 4 hours, and I'd like to have an 11-minute mile for actual difficult terrain with hills and roots and whatnot. But this is a good start for training! I only got back into running 6 weeks ago yesterday, and I only did about 1 mile (also flat). And now I can run 13!

Half marathon

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:30 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (Default)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
I can hardly believe it, but I ran 13 miles this morning, which is the distance of a half marathon. I learned some things from last time:

* Run on a workday. It's far easier to keep running if the pep talk is "The alternative is you go inside and continue devising a test plan for your company's thumbnail-generating service" and not "The alternative is you go inside and work on the Peter Keith biography and the Old Irish teaching materials."

* Don't worry about distance, and try not to think about the running process at all, until you start to feel physically tired. For the first half of the run, I wasn't an athlete, just an academic out for a morning run. I knew I could do 4-5 loops (5-6.5 miles) without trying, and I spent the time thinking about Peter Keith, Old Irish, work, and whatever other interesting things came to mind.

Only once I started to feel physically tired did I switch into feeling like an athlete. And even then I didn't set particular goals strongly. I had 13 in the back of my mind, but I had lower numbers, too. I even told myself it was fine if I didn't equal last time's distance (although I would be very confused about why if not).

Toward the end, I started setting half-loop goals, and of course doing my usual thing of finding goalposts as often as possible: finish this loop, finish this mile, finish half a loop, etc. It's easier to hit a goal every 5 minutes than every 15 minutes. It really helped that the 9th loop was 11.75 miles, I decided to go on to 12, and then I realized it was just one! more! mile! to a half marathon.

What ultimately helped the most was that ever since I was in junior high, I've wanted to be able to push myself on distance running. I've wanted to be tired and pushing through it. And while I've certainly made myself run when I didn't feel like it before, I've never had this particular sensation before, except a little bit last time.

So I kept telling myself that I had been looking forward to this sensation for 30 years, that I finally had the opportunity, and that I wanted to enjoy it as long as possible. I realized that I have absolutely been quitting too soon and that I've regretted it on my last few runs, and that if I just leaned into enjoying this sensation, I would have the experience and not the regrets.

I mean, the alternative was to work on a test plan for our thumbnail-generation service!

Of course, it definitely helped that 13 miles is half a marathon. I don't know if I would have had this motivation for the number 13 otherwise; I would have stopped at 12 or maybe 12.25.

The biggest problem is my left hamstring. It was *really* unhappy after my last run and for two days afterwards, and it was *really* unhappy after this run. I actually went and lay down for about 15 minutes after this run, learning from last time that a bit of lying down goes a long way. I showered and tried sitting down at the computer on the sofa bed, but my hamstring didn't like it, so I figured instead of tightening my glutes some more, I would lie down flat for a bit. And that did seem to help a little, but I'm not sure if I should be running beyond 13 miles until I solve this. In fact, one of my pep talks today was that this might be my last long run for a while, and if so, I should make the most of it.

I'll keep an eye on it and see. It had mostly recovered the last 2 days (by which I mean back to normal levels of pain), which is why I went for it again. Cross your fingers it does the same thing again!

ETA: Oh, and my knees were 100%, not a twinge in sight. No stiffness, no discomfort, not even when I switched to walking for my cooldown. They were as strong as they've ever been, I couldn't even tell which one has been the injured one for a year. \o/ I've been very diligently sleeping with my legs extended, sometimes even at the cost of sleep, and it's paying off.

A Will in Pain

Mar. 27th, 2026 10:40 pm
[syndicated profile] ao3_sky_high_movie_feed

Posted by restlessvoyager

by

Gwen has escaped and wants revenge on Will and Layla. What better way than slowly turn Will into a Villian who can serve her in multiple ways.

Words: 13483, Chapters: 9/9, Language: English

2025: Many Things

Mar. 27th, 2026 11:21 pm
schneefink: (Feldgatter)
[personal profile] schneefink
It's very late March, I know, but better late than never. Most of this was written back in December/January.

Fannish things )

Non-fannish things )

Profile

the_siobhan: It means, "to rot" (Default)
the_siobhan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123456 7
8910111213 14
15161718192021
22232425 262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags